Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tripp Cobra 10 Round Problems

jschweg

Just wanted to get some experiences or opinions.

I have a bunch of 10 round Tripp Cobras that I've been using in competition for 2 years which have been flawless. I primarily compete in PPC leagues that limit 6 rounds in the mag because the wheel guns aren't in a separate class.

I shot my first steel challenge practice match earlier this evening and loaded 10 rounds into these mags for the first time. With 10 rounds loaded, the second round nose dives into the feed ramp and jams almost every single time. I loaded 9 rounds for the rest of the match and it ran like a champ.

Are these 9mm 10 round magazines iffy when loading the full 10 rounds? I'm shooting my own 147 grain reloads at 1.14 in my Trojan.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

I've seen the same issues and usually it has to do with the second round being pushed forward in the tube when the first round is chambered.  I've even seen it on first round from slide lock if the round wasn't pushed all the way back in the tube.  I've moved and had most of my shooters move to the CMC XP mags.  No issues with the rounds moving because of the feedlip style.

On 6/27/2018 at 6:49 AM, scubajosh77 said:

I've seen the same issues and usually it has to do with the second round being pushed forward in the tube when the first round is chambered.  I've even seen it on first round from slide lock if the round wasn't pushed all the way back in the tube.  I've moved and had most of my shooters move to the CMC XP mags.  No issues with the rounds moving because of the feedlip style.

Yep same for me. No issues with the CMC XP mags.

Edited by Dave C

Thanks for the responses guys.

I'm going to email Tripp and see if they have any suggestions. I have a bunch of these mags and I'd like to figure out a way to make them work.

18 hours ago, jschweg said:

Thanks for the responses guys.