Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tanfoglio for open?

ATLDave

I've been shooting a Tanfo' LTD in Limited division for several years.  I have a lot of muscle memory/indexing built up on this "platform."  I feel like I know reasonably well how the internals work, how to fix them/keep them running.  

I'm toying with getting an open gun.  I have no intention of becoming a full-time open shooter.  I'd like to maintain the ability to go back and forth between the open gun and my limited gun.  

Obviously, the CW is to get a 2011-based open gun.  (But the CW was also to get a 2011-based limited gun... you see how much regard I gave that!).  

So I'm here for the crowdsourced wisdom: is Tanfo' stupid for open?  Are Gold Teams feasible?  Possible to keep them running?  Are there readily-available options for changing out the barrel if the popple holes are making it difficult to make PF?  

Educate this ignorant, iron-sighted peasant, please!

Edited by ATLDave

I have no experience with the gold team.

I use two limiteds which were converted to open by canyon creek. Both in 9mm major

One has the tanfoglio 3 port comp with thin barrel and other one has a 4 port canyon creek comp and heavy cone barrel. the gun with the 4 port comp is noticeably flatter. Both have 3 popple holes cut in same locations. Both make major very easily. I use lightened slides on both and run light recoil springs and both have been reliable except for ammo issues that were my fault figuring out OAL and such.

I made M in 3 months swapping between both of them which is where I’m at in production so don’t feel like the guns are holding me back or anything.

Recently shot the spartan 300 with the backup gun and took first open. I only get 28rds in a big stick. Aside from that I don’t see a disadvantage especially if you want to keep shooting what you are familiar with.

a58e988d06d6b5939d5972ba07aa8e78.heic

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk