Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

MOA Stoeger vs Beretta 1301 Comp

I’m just getting into 3gun and so far have been using either my basic Mossberg 500 or a borrowed TTI M2 (I know - complete opposite ends of the spectrum).  It’s time I got a decent semi-auto shotgun of my own.  Obviously the TTI M2 is sweet and pretty much satisfies all of my criteria, but I would prefer to not spend that much.  For similar money, it looks like one could buy a Stoeger M3000 / M3K and have it worked over my MOA precision or a stock Beretta 1301 Comp with a magazine extension. 

The MOA Stoeger would have all the modifications needed for competition and I’m already used to the manual of arms, however, the “M3000 Scattergun” thread has quite a few posts about various issues that worry me.  To be fair, I don’t know if any of the problem guns were tuned by MOA.  One of my biggest requirements is reliability, and ideally, the ability to run even cheap Walmart Winchester or Federal ammo without drama - I’m concerned about the Stoeger being able to do this.  And I should add that I don't have much time or interest in tinkering and chasing issues myself.  

From my research, the 1301 has a great reputation for reliability and as a bonus is known to be softer shooting.  My concern is how deep the magazine tube sits in the loading port and how that would hinder the ability to quad load.  There is also a minor concern about 922r compliance with the addition of a magazine tube.  

So what do you guys think: MOA Stoeger or 1301 Comp?     

Edited by TalkingMonkey

I can't speak to the Beretta, since I have no direct experience with it. The only thing I'll say about a direct comparison is a reminder that being "known to be softer shooting" is likely a more generic feature of gas- vs. inertia-operated shotguns in general than anything specific to either the 1301 or the M3K.