Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thoughts on over-travel stops...

Justin M

Admittedly, I'm new to revolvers, but I have settled on not using over-travel stops - at all - for the time being.  I do not use trigger based (like what comes on the "Pro Shop" guns) screws/pins, pins in the rebound slide, or frame mounted stops like the old guns (I suppose I could modify the frames if there was some sort of specific benefit there).  

Is there a generally agreed upon consensus on over-travel stops?  Good, bad, indifferent, etc.  

I'm coming from a far more modern handgun, the 1911.  On that, I settled on about .050" slack, a sub-2lb trigger, and damn near no over-travel.  I'd just slap the trigger and it all worked out pretty well.  

This should be an interesting conversation. i can't wait to hear everyone's opinion.

My opinion? There's way too much going on with shooting a revolver in action matches to even know if I have a stop in my gun. 

I like to have an over travel stop on my match guns. I feel it gives better trigger control. When you are shooting DA and the trigger is being pulled with 6 - 8 pounds of force, then suddenly released, there is a greater tendency to pull the gun off the mark If there is additional movement, then a sudden stop. This occurs at a critical moment in the firing sequence as the hammer is falling. With a proper trigger stop, any movement after the sear releases is minimized and you don't get the little jerk at the end of the trigger pull (just the big one holding the gun).?

I like to set the stop so the trigger will fall with 2 thicknesses of paper, but not 3. Usually the single action won't cock with this setting. If you want to set the single and double action to the same stop, set the DA first, then stone the SA spur on the trigger to be short enough for the hammer to cock back all the way. The SA should fall with 1 sheet of paper, but not 2.