Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Practice session round count

MJinPA

I normally get out for live fire twice/week and plan on about 200 rounds each day. Toward the end of my practice sessions I typically start to make some sort of breakthrough where I'm seeing/feeling things more clearly and generally have a better connection with the gun, sights, etc. So, for those of us that dont have unlimited time and ammo, do you think it makes more sense to do one session of 400 rounds or continue doing what I'm doing. More practice days vs. more rounds fired per practice day...Goes without saying that in either case I'd have a plan and structure. 

Isn't that similar to asking whether one is better off doing 25 sit-ups a day or a 175 sit-ups once a week?

I'm no expert, but my experience has been more frequent practice sessions, concentrating on just one or two drills per session, pays higher dividends than cramming a lot of work into one marathon session. When I get tired I get sloppy and hit the threshold of diminishing returns after an hour or so.

I also try for 15 minutes of dry fire a day, obviously cheaper and more convenient than live fire.

Just my 2¢.

I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

What changes that you start feeling that "breakthrough"? Is it just getting warmed up or switching to different drills?

In general I feel multiple practice sessions are better, but it's highly individual.  I'd rather push on if the session is going really well and skip the 2nd session. But I'd also skip meals to pay for more range time.

15 minutes ago, SCTaylor said:

What changes that you start feeling that "breakthrough"? Is it just getting warmed up or switching to different drills?

In general I feel multiple practice sessions are better, but it's highly individual.  I'd rather push on if the session is going really well and skip the 2nd session. But I'd also skip meals to pay for more range time.