Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm 147gr col

Chrisyoung

I'm new to loading 9mm. I've only loaded around 1500 rounds. I have been loading blue bullets 125 gr tc to a 1.125 col with no problems in my m&p 2.0.  Decided to try some 147 gr fp from precision and I'm have to seat to a 1.070 col to past a punk test In my barrel. Wanting to try them over 2.8 gr of titegroup as a starting load but I'm concerned with the short col. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I plan to keep all my fingers! Thanks in advance. 

If The Plunk Test suggests 1.07", then that's what it is (unless you have your chamber reamed).

So, I'd back the powder down to 2.6 grains TG and work up, slowly, with a chrono    :) 

You should keep all of your fingers, that way....

That sounds very short for an M&P, are you sure something else is going on there? Not that 1.07 is a problem but I'd check that measurement because my M&P 2.0 has a very generous chamber.

Edited by 4n2t0

5 minutes ago, 4n2t0 said:

That sounds very short for an M&P, are you sure something else is going on there?

I'm crimping to .377 to .378. using mix range brass I did load some with 2.6 and 2.8 gr of titegroup with no signs of over pressure but I have not chrono yet. I'm beginning to think my gun just doesn't like the profile of the precisions. Any insight in to achieving a long col?

Your barrel(s) will determine the OAL. The only thing you can do if you're not comfortable with the short OAL is change bullets. I'd triple check that measurement though. You crimp measurement looks good, so it shouldn't be causing you any problems This isn't an apples for apples comparison but the plated 147gr FP I load at 1.09 for my CZ will easily pass at 1.15 for my M&P. Are you sure the bullets hitting the rifling? Could something else be stopping the spin portion of the test? What about progressively shortening the OAL from 1.15 to 1.07 to see when the round sits flush. Here's a picture to help explain my babbling: