Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open gun help

jpease

I'm new to open guns and was wondering how you guys get them to shoot so flat. I have put together a double stack 5" 9mm with a 3 port egw comp And mainly all Wilson internals on a ck frame. I'm trying to stay in minor so I'm currently shooting 5.8gr of auto comp with 124gr plated round nose with oal of 1.150. This is somewhat tame but still getting muzzle flip. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks

I'm new to open guns and was wondering how you guys get them to shoot so flat. I have put together a double stack 5" 9mm with a 3 port egw comp And mainly all Wilson internals on a ck frame. I'm trying to stay in minor so I'm currently shooting 5.8gr of auto comp with 124gr plated round nose with oal of 1.150. This is somewhat tame but still getting muzzle flip. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks

Disclaimer. Not an open shooter. My guess is the load does not generate enough gas for the comp to work effectively. If correct, more powder or different comp.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Compensators work best when they have lots of gas.  If the powder you're currently using makes your power factor but has too much muzzle rise for you, try a powder that requires more weight to produce the same speed.

Powders differ with respect to how much gas they provide for the compensator. Powders that use larger charge weights provide more gas, and more gas means more gas pressure which translates into more downward force on the barrel/gun as the gas blasts upward from the compensator chamber ports and/or barrel popple holes.

Powders like Accurate #7 require more weight and will produce more gas and help to reduce muzzle rise.

You can get an idea of how charge weight differs by checking out this article: https://www.ssusa.org/articles/2018/1/9/how-to-use-9-major-in-a-short-barrel/

"Most" comps work best between 170-175 PF.

Unless you are using enough gas, the comp is just a weight hanging off the front of the gun.