Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Blue bullets in 38sc

LukeWL

I’m relatively new to open guns/comped guns. I have a load I like and shoots well (125 jhp Everglades, starline brass, 10.1gr 3n38, Cci srp) but wanted to make it a bit cheaper since I’m shooting 5-600 rounds a week lately. I’m looking at the 125 gr rn from blue bullets. I know it will require a little less powder and I’ll have to seat a little deeper to get the same oal. But I’ve read mixed reports on shooting a coated bullet in a comp’ed gun and not sure how the 3n38 will do with it? I have a bunch and don’t want to switch yet. 

I personally didn't get near the level of accuracy with coated bullets than I did with JHP's out of my open guns.  I've heard not to use coated bullets if you have popple holes in your guns, but I'm not sure if there is any actual evidence to back that up.

11 minutes ago, LukeWL said:

I’m relatively new to open guns/comped guns. I have a load I like and shoots well (125 jhp Everglades, starline brass, 10.1gr 3n38, Cci srp) but wanted to make it a bit cheaper since I’m shooting 5-600 rounds a week lately. I’m looking at the 125 gr rn from blue bullets. I know it will require a little less powder and I’ll have to seat a little deeper to get the same oal. But I’ve read mixed reports on shooting a coated bullet in a comp’ed gun and not sure how the 3n38 will do with it? I have a bunch and don’t want to switch yet. 

Why not just buy cheaper jacketed bullets?   

• Everglades .38 Super 125gr JHP (.356)  = $130/1000 
    Or...
  • Precision Delta .38 Super 124gr RN $89/1000 (when you buy 2,000 or more)
  • Zero Bullets .38 Super 121gr JHP (.356) = $100/1000 (when you buy 2,000 or more)
  • Zero Bullets .38 Super 125gr JHP (.356) = $109/1000 (when you buy 2,000 or more)

You really can't go wrong with those Precision Deltas for $89/1000.  ;)