Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Scope mount height

I recently purchased a NightForce NX 8 1-8 scope for my light weight 3 gun build and considering the Geissele scope mount. I like that Geissele number the saddle and caps before line boring the rings  to keep everything as accurate as possible and they have managed to keep the weight under 8 oz. The question is should I get the standard scope mount with the 1.5” centerline height or the high power version that has a 1.34 centerline height.The NX8 scope has a smaller exit pupil so getting a good repeatable cheek weld and my eye centered might be pesky when shooting long range at high magnification. In that situation I would think that the lower mount would help. Conversely at short rangers at 1X and a more heads up style shooting I would probably want the higher scope mount. 

I am relatively new to 3 gun and probably spent money on the wrong equipment already. The scope height is a mystery to me and need some advice.

I don't shoot three gun but I have shot ar's a lot. I try to mount my scopes about the same as what the standard sights would be . If you mount the scope to low you will have put a lot of pressure on your cheek bone to see thur the scope I would go with the high rings if it was me.

It's all going to come down to the geometry of the stock that you're using and your body mechanics getting into different shooting positions. Don't know if you're a podcast guy, but there's a recent episode of the 3 Gun Show that has a pretty good discussion on this topic:

https://3gunshow.com/2018/04/03/182-long-range-preparation-with-reuben-aleckson/