Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shadow 2 owners do you shoot 147 during competitions?

kmanick

I am not rolling my own ammo yet (the Mrs. is busting my chops about it)

so my buddy rolls his own and I occasionally shoot his.

I usually  just used S&B 124gr off the shelve. I go back and forth between that and Aguila 124 for plinking.

American Eagle 147 for match use.

I received a box from JJRAmmo.com today and went to the range and tried them.

147 Delta precision premium per JJR -  "chrono'd perfectly at about 890 fps out of my CZ for a 130 PF."

A bit more $$ than off the shelve 9mm (especially through something like Target Sports)

but man....it was almost like shooting .22LR.  Through a gun as heavy as a Shadow 2 is 147 really necessary?

will a lighter load 124 feel this soft as well? or is this the way to go? (it sure seems like it but I have limited experience with "match ammo".

through my M&P 9L the difference in "kick" or lack of was tremendous.

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

2 minutes ago, kmanick said:

Through a gun as heavy as a Shadow 2 is 147 really necessary?

will a lighter load 124 feel this soft as well? 

Depending on your current ability and grip strength (ability to

control muzzle flip), you might actually feel the 147 is "too slow"

for you.

Like you're "waiting for the gun" - you're ready to take the shot

before the gun is ready to shoot (think 0.16 sec splits).

It's personal - some prefer 124's and some prefer 147's   :) 

Shadow 2 and shooting 147 RN S&S Casting coated over 3.1gr N320. I like it as it is so mild in the recoil department. 

I don’t care for the “snap” when shooting lighter bullets. For “snap”, I shoot my open gun.

It comes down to personal preference, so shoot what feels good to you.

7 minutes ago, HI5-O said:

Shadow 2 and shooting 147 RN S&S Casting coated over 3.1gr N320. I like it as it is so mild in the recoil department.