Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Recommended shooting classes

HickLife

I didn't know whether to put this in the training techniques or the resources or here, so if it needs to be moved mods go ahead. 

So the question is- What training classes do yall recommend taking? As a competitor? For selfdefense or tactics? What classes do you not recommend taking (no bashing just say if it wasn't helpful or if dangerous)? I'll try and update this post with the recommended ones so that people don't have to hunt through the whole thread to find them.

I want to try and make this a sticky thread if we can get enough input. As I stated in my introduction thread I am new to the competition would but not to shooting and am looking to broaden my horizons on selfdefense (primarily) and with competition. My whole reason to get into competition shooting is to just be a better shooter all around. Thanks guys

Competition-

Selfdefense/Tactics-

Not recommended-

I've taken three courses with very "famous" masters, none of whom have ever

offered any suggestions re:  my grip    :(

One of those courses consisted of 60% Dot Torture    :(

Well known names in the field.

I can't recommend any,  yet, since I wasn't happy with the three

that I tried.

If you go to a course that involves firing 1,000 rounds/day - bring

bandaids.   Unless your gun is Very Smooth, you're going to end up

with bleeding hands.

Make sure they send you away with a Plan of Action - what should

you do to follow up on what you've learned - no one offered that,

either.

YES, I should have asked, in retrospect.  Didn't know enough to ask

at the time (these were many years ago).    

That's the reason I pass it along, free of charge   :) 

Good luck with it.

Let us know how you made out.

Maybe they thought you were just that good?