Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Keep and use or buy new?

Helios

I recently became interested in reloading and while preparing to buy my own RCBS Rock Chucker Master Supreme Kit a friend gave me an old Lee Challenger from the early 80s. It looks to be intact but will require a means of priming, powder measure, scale, and a couple odds and ends. Compared to buying a new kit (plus add ons) I’m not sure I’m really coming out too far ahead using the “freebie” and I gather the Challenger isn’t all that well built. So my question is should I accumulate the odds and ends to use the Lee or start fresh with the RCBS? 

TIA  

How many rounds do you plan on reloading and how many different calibers will be loaded?

I still have my original Rock Chucker (vintage 1976) but its now relegated to pulling bullets with an RCBS collet tool.  It was purchased to make my 25-06 varmint lo.  Iads but when I started shooting practical pistol, I used it for a year or so loading .45 ACP.  Got pretty good at loading 100 rds in under 80 minutes.

Some of those odds and ends you will still need to buy if you use the Challenger press or use a top of the line Dillon 1050.

Be realistic on your goal and proceed accordingly.   If you would be happy with the Rock Chucker, you will most likely be happy with the Challenger.  The primer feed arm is still available. 

If you need something faster, consider the Dillon 550, 650 or 1050.  Each has its pros and cons depending on what and how much you need to load.

As previously stated. How much are you wanting to load and how quickly. 

My RCBS is just for precision rifle. The Dillon does everything else.

The RCBS Kit is nice because is has all the single stage bells and whistles you'd need. Also there is no problem having 2 presses.