Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Noob here and just shot my first USPSA match the other day

DB_Cooper

New guy here and new to USPSA, I shot my first USPSA match in carry optics this past Saturday and it was a blast (pun intended). I joined here to learn tips and tricks about competitive shooting and plan on shooting my next match on May 5th.

What setup and gun are you using? Just a hint from when I started a couple years ago...don’t go down the rabbit hole of trying to buy a bunch of good equipment right away. Shoot a few matches and talk to other shooters. Try out there gear and see what you like. Welcome to a very addicting hobby.

• 2 weeks later...

Welcome to the fray/addiction that is known as competitive shooting! haha! I started about a year ago and after my first match I was hooked as I'm sure you are now too; good people, good shooting, good competion; what more can you ask for?

When I started a year ago I started Listening to the Ben Stoeger podcast to and from work to help me wrap my head around the sport. I also watched YouTube videos from various pros to pick up some better shooting techniques. I also bought Ben’s Dryfire and Skills and drills books. There are plenty of options out there for training but I liked his no BS approach. One thing I learned is dryfire is definitely a valuable tool and will have you progressing in the sport a whole lot faster then just live fire training alone. 

Agree. I bought a set of the scale Dry Fire targets from Ben’s Pro shop and it really helped me improved. I also bought the two books which I read and practice with daily.

i think it’s worth it plus it gives me something to do during my spare time.

19 hours ago, Turbo0321 said: