Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie .223 reloading questions

SlvrDragon50

Getting ammo here in Illinois is an absolute PITA because I am a Florida resident here (as a student), and I can't get a FOID card. So I've started reloading all my 9mm for USPSA purposes, but now I am starting to get into 3 gun. I only plan on doing local club matches so I don't need the best shooting .223 rounds (<100 yards I think, MAYBE a 200 yard shot?). I have a couple of questions about reloading .223 since I'm getting really confused with case prep.

1) I've read that some people case prep everything. Other people don't case prep for hoser ammo? How much case prep should I expect to do? How long does it usually take to prep say 500 cases?

Lyman Case Prep Xpress Does something like this work? Seems fast enough and I imagine you could case prep while watching TV? Trimming the ammo was the biggest thing I was hesitant about with regards to case prep.

2) Once fired brass vs range pickups? Some people will only reload once-fired brass. I understand the risks of shooting unknown rifle brass, but at this point, doesn't the cost of reloading go up exorbitantly? This is the biggest factor for me since I can buy ammo at my range, it's just marked up quite a bit compared to bulk ammo from say Target Sport USA.

3) I don't plan on shooting the AR anywhere near the same volume so I am completely okay getting a single stage. That said, I do have a Hornady LNL already. Would I be better off going with a single stage or just get new dies for my LNL?

Thank you for all the help. Sorry for the completely noobish questions. Feels like I'm getting into a completely new world as I look into rifle reloading from 9mm reloading.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic