Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Draw speed

old558

Just wondering what an average draw speed is? I have been shooting steel challenge for a couple years now during the spring summer season here in Minnesota now (once a month) for a couple of years. My draw and fire is an average 1.7 sec at 10 to 15 yards if I want to hit the target. Reading on this forum I see times of 1 second or less with very few post of slower times. What can I do to speed things up?

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Dryfire. Your dry fire will be about 20% FASTER (mistake corrected) than your live fire. So to hit a second you need to be at 0.8 in dry fire. 

Also, you need to decide off your target is an A zone hit, or just hitting the brown. Hitting an A zone at 15 yards in 1.0 seconds is definitely a good time.

Edited by selecw

Dryfire. Your dry fire will be about 20% slower than your live fire. So to hit a second you need to be at 0.8 in dry fire. 

Also, you need to decide off your target is an A zone hit, or just hitting the brown. Hitting an A zone at 15 yards in 1.0 seconds is definitely a good time.
I'm certainly no math whiz, but wouldn't that be the other way around? If dry fire is 20% slower, wouldn't 1.2sec dry fire = 1sec live fire?

I know I dry fire practice at a MUCH slower pace to concentrate on each aspect, from garmnt clear to grasp to draw to grip to sight alaingment to trigger press - and everything in between. Live fire confirms what I've been practicing in dry fire.

Repetition > Refinement > Reinforcement.

Wyatt Earp: "You have to learn to go slow in a hurry."

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

3 hours ago, old558 said: