Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Sign in to follow this  
jodonnell4

xl650 Casefeeder Deforming Brass

I am new to the xl650. Have switched over from my 550RL.

I am experiencing brass deformation from the case feeder.

Can anyone help me diagnose the problem?

Using 9mm mixed brass lubed with one shot in the casefeeder.

Thank you.

20180408_003020_resized.jpg

That looks more like its hit the lip of the sizing die. I have had that occur on occasion on one side of the case but not both ? Do you know or have you seen where the case feeder is doing that to them. How many is that happening to?

2 hours ago, metalicat30 said:

That looks more like its hit the lip of the sizing die. I have had that occur on occasion on one side of the case but not both ? Do you know or have you seen where the case feeder is doing that to them. How many is that happening to?

I would agree.  Are you sure that cases are fully seated in station 1 before entering the sizing die?

13 minutes ago, jodonnell4 said:

They appear to arrive to die one deformed from the casefeeder.

That’s just not likely.

Had one like that last night, I chalked it up to missing the Lee sizing die. Highly doubt it is happening in the case feeder.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

With the clutch in the case feeder, I sincerely doubt it can deform brass.

That looks like a downward force from a ba or circle was applied, not from the case feeder.

Agree that the standard casefeeder doesnt have the ooompf to cause that damage.

Its either happening to the brass before it goes into the casefeeder, or its happening when the case doesnt get seated fully into station one and the sizing die hits the top of it on the downstroke of the handle.

5 hours ago, jodonnell4 said:

They appear to arrive to die one deformed from the casefeeder.

I would take 10 non damaged and run them thru while watching in the bowl of the case feeder to find the issue.