Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

WAC/AC temp sensitive?

SilverBolt

26 minutes ago, SilverBolt said:

Used up the last of our IMR-7625 for 9-Major and making the switch to WAC/AC for now.  Any temperature issues either hot or cold?

Not that I've noticed. I've been using AC for over 3 years and I load it to 172PF, never had it go below 170 at a number of majors. The temperature varied from around 40 degrees to over 100.

for me, 4.6 wac at 1.165 (40 200gr bbi) is 171.2pf at 70f. at 33f that exact same load, same batch and all was 166.4pf. both test batches were loaded at the same time and shot after one full mag was used to warm the gun up. i dont know if it would drop any further but i definitely get a drop in pf. 

15 minutes ago, Hi-Power Jack said:

That's a large frop (171 to 166).

BUT, different caliber, much lower quantity of powder ???

idk how it would be for different calibers. this was in 40. i will try it with my open loads as soon as it gets cold again.

1 minute ago, tcazes said:

idk how it would be for different calibers. this was in 40. i will try it with my open loads as soon as it gets cold again.

Well, looking for a possible explanation why you would find a large difference whereas

neither Bkreutz  nor Sprig (above) saw any difference from 40 F to 100 F.

Only difference in the equation is the caliber and amount of powder.    :) 

I use a LOT of WAC in 9mm Major, but never checked PF in cold weather. 

4 minutes ago, Hi-Power Jack said:

Well, looking for a possible explanation why you would find a large difference whereas

neither Bkreutz  nor Sprig (above) saw any difference from 40 F to 100 F.

Only difference in the equation is the caliber and amount of powder.    :) 

I use a LOT of WAC in 9mm Major, but never checked PF in cold weather.