Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I'm considering LASIK, but I don't know where to start exactly. I know there are a couple of different methods, one where they slice something and one they don't.

I know I have pretty bad astigmatism, but I haven't gone to see whether or not I qualify for LASIK.

What questions should I be asking? My main concern so far is if LASIK will affect my ability to focus on different objects at different distances quickly.

For those of you that did get LASIK done, what have been your experiences in regards to shooting?

Had my eyes done about 10 years ago which is before I started shooting uspsa. Vision has been perfect ever since and I feel like I have HD vision when I stare off in the distance on a nice clear day.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I had mine done 15 years ago. It was great for the first 3 years, but the vision in my right eye began deteriorating. My ophthalmologist said the cornea was too thin and the procedure should not have been done. The cornea is drooping and my vision in that eye sucks.  I don't remember the prescription for it, but even corrected, I can't make out letters/words of normal type. Fortunately, my left eye is fine. I'd never do it again because screwups are permanent. Doc claims a cornea replacement is in my distant future, but I doubt I'd ever do it. My laser doc was extremely well respected and expensive, but it still went sideways. If you do it, I'd at least recommend you get two independent consultations to ensure your corneas are thick enough. Best of luck.