Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Build my custom 2011....

wrx04

I’m new to uspsa and thinking about a 2011 in .40 so I can shoot limited.  I would like to know what options the more experienced guys prefer on their guns.  Opinions may vary wildly, but I would like to see what most here prefer and why.....looking for the things that most people agree upon.  If you had to build a gun for a new guy, how would you build it to eliminate the mistakes made in building a gun with minimal experience in the sport?

What is options are considered a personal preference vs an objective advantage?  (I.e. full vs short dustcover, metal v poly grip, etc...)

I’ve been thinking of a tri-top 5.4” SVI in .40.  Metal grip, aet barrel, steel magwell, full length dust cover, etc...   I may also buy a used gun and run it for a year or two to find what I like, but part of me wants to just get the SVI (or similar) from the start.

Show me your gunbuilder build for recommendations.  Thanks.

I am no expert, and just bought my first 2011 myself, but the advice that I was given, and I think it was the best advice ever, was to start out with a nice used 2011 with most of the features you are looking for, and then get a good smith to take a look at it and fine-tune any issues he/she may see.

This way, you get your gun right away (You will wait many months to get an SVI), and you should be able to sell the used gun again for about what you paid for it later.

This gives you a chance to find out what you like, what you want, and then after a season out at the range, you can then design the gun of your dreams.

I have to say however that I just added a thumb rest to my STI frame, and I love it! I wasn't sure how much of a gimmick they were, but now that I have it, I absolutely love it. YMMV of course, but my advice would be to put one on any gun your buy/build.

13 hours ago, wrx04 said: