Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Problems With Speer Brass

DrKyle1

I am new to reloading 9mm. Has anyone experienced problems with speer brass (once fired) when I run it through my 650 and go to put the 9mm projectile on it drops into the case. I am using lee sizer/decapper, dillon powder and lee seat and factory crimp dies. It only happens with speer. Win is ok no problems. Any suggestions... besides don't us Speer? Thanks all. It has happened with both magtec and win 115gr fmj.

I have the sizer die set up correctly... not sure what else I can do to the speer brass... maybe a bad batch? The press runs through winchester, pmc and others without a hitch.

What is the wall thickness at the case mouth. It sometimes happens that the brass ends up thin, so that a normal sized, or on the larger side of the tolerance size sizer won't adequately size it. This may be the situation if the case wall thickness at the mouth is on the order of 0.010". If the brass measures normally (0.012 - 0.014" thick) you might try a different sizing die if you have one.

Have you tried seeing if a bullet will go in the sized, but not expanded case? If the bullet will not drop in after only sizing, then the expander comes under suspision.

Also, what are the bullet diameters?

Guy

• 1 year later...

I'm resurrecting this because I'm having the same problem as DrKyle1, only I'm using a newly purchased (bought used) Square Deal B.

I have been handloading 9mm on a Rock Chucker for years. I had to trim the bottom of the RCBS carbide sizing die down to fully resize the 9mm case after firing in Glocks due to their oversized chambers. I recently purchased a 9mm SDB and after setting it up and carefully gauging everything, I sat down to load 100 test rounds. I used a Remington 124gr JHP, CCI primers, and mixed brass.