Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Grand Power X-Calibur vs. Canik tp9sfx vs. Walther Q5 Match

I've been doing the research and I'm getting ready to dive into the world of handgun competition. USPSA production and Super Steel are the ones that I'll be aiming for. I've been bouncing back and forth between the Grand Power X-Calibur, the Walther Q5 Match and the Canik TP9SFX. I've got rather large hands. I've been directed to the G34 and a few other glocks but I'm honestly not a huge glock guy but I'm open to arguments as to why I should change my mind. There's also the far off chance I might consider the CZ Shadow 2 but I'd rather keep it under 800(dealer's cost). As I've said since I'm new I'm honestly not sure where I should be right now. I've been shooting handguns for over 20 years but it's all been bullseye or paper. I'd love for some input as to what you guys think out of those 3. 

I have both a Grand Power X Calibur and TP9SFX. Between the 2 I would go with the Grand Power. Love it. I also have 4 different Tanfoglios. The Grand Power recoils like a heavy steel gun but points fast due to it's actual weight. I'm a fan. But all the guns that you mentioned will do the job. It's the shooter not the gun. Get what works best for you and your budget. 

Edited by pfcchambers
Error

You don’t want a Q5 or a Canik if you have really large hands. I wear a large size glove, and very much fill the relatively short Q5 grip completely.

I like it, because the contour of the grip forces a very high grip even if I accidentally grip a bit low on the draw? It practically shoves my hand upward.

With a hand even larger? The gun would be a serious challenge.

Plus 1 to what Memphis said. My buddy shoots a ppq, I have very large hands and with his ppq my hand was almost falling off the lower portion. It did not feel good at all to me. The Canik fits me better but with my Tp9sfx I have to wrap my support finger around the trigger guard or I hit the slide lock. Which sucks in idpa.