Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is shooting a 2011 only for the wealthy?

Sig0431

Before I get into this let me give you all a little background. I have only been shooting USPSA Limited for 2 years. I currently shoot a Sig P320 in 9mm as that is what I had at the time I started. I am an active duty Marine and by no means a subject matter expert which is why I would like to hear from you all and gain some advice.

Now to the topic. I have been shooting for many years but Limited for 2. As you all know I am at a total disadvantage shooting 9mm and am always on the hunt for a 40 that I can afford and set the Sig aside for 3 gun. Along with many shooters the Atlas Gunworks Nemesis is my dream pistol and this is where my questions being. Put the Atlas Gunworks aside, is there anyway that someone like myself with a military income can get into a 2011 set up or has this firearm become reserved for those with large amounts of extra cash laying around?

I have looked at a caliper conversion for the P320 to 40, I have considered switching to an M&P etc. I am well aware that those options are out there but "IMO" they do not have the same level of third party parts and support, community following and gun smiths with that skill to make the weapon run as flat as many 2011's do. When it comes to "intro" level 2011's really the only option that I have seen is the Rock Island Armory which only comes in 9mm and I have heard some good but many more negative stories about. I was excited to see during Shot Show that STI announced the HAWK 5.0 as the beginners 2011 but sadly only in 9mm at this point. Then when looking at the weapon and considering I would need to order a magwell, adjustable rear sight, barrel (maybe) etc. It seemed that going with a STI Edge would save money in the long run.