Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking for a cleaner powder to try in my 929

shoots100

Hey All,

I've been loading rounds with longshot powder for a couple of years in the 929, using Missouri 147 grn coated projos.

All has been well, but this year I had a few times that some unburnt powder got stuck in the cylinder area and caused me grief.

After removal of the debris I had no issues, but I'm looking into trying different powders that will have less of a chance in leaving anything behind to mess me up.

Next week I'll be getting 3k of the 147 projos and I would like to test some recommended loads before the 2018 steel matches come calling.

Thanks,

SJC

36 minutes ago, PatJones said:
41 minutes ago, MWP said:
Titegroup 

I've always understood Titegroup left the forcing cone hotter than other powders, making for a spicy revolver reload.

In a 625, yes I agree. In short colt or 9mm, I can't get it that hot.

Thanks for the replies.

N320 Powder it is then.

It was unavailable, or $50 a lb when I was testing loads for the 929.

I scoured the usual sites and ordered 8lbs a few minutes ago

If I ordered 1lb and liked it, I probably wouldn't be able to find it available anywhere  ! 

8lbs should be enough powder to test it out and get a good load worked up.

I'll look around, but I would appreciate any recommended starting loads for use with the 929 or any 9mm revolver ?

I tried titeGroup , but not E3.

All the components should be here next week, so it's almost a guarantee that it's going to snow like a MOFO and close the road to the range down !

SJC

On 12/16/2017 at 5:27 PM, shoots100 said:

All has been well, but this year I had a few times that some unburnt powder got stuck in the cylinder area and caused me grief.

After removal of the debris I had no issues, but I'm looking into trying different powders that will have less of a chance in leaving anything behind to mess me up.