Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Premature Lockulation

BangSwitch

I'm still very new to the STI platform (~2 months in now)  and learning more every day.  I understand that lots of 2011 shooters have problems with the slide locking back with a single round left in the magazine.  I've discovered this phenomena in my own gun and just about every magazine.  I recently ditched the factory springs/followers in all five of my "gen 2" STI magazines.  I use Grams springs/followers now.  

When I ask other shooters about this, they just tell me to dremmel the corner off my followers and learn to count shots.  ....that is a solution, but I sure would like to figure out a way to get the slide lock function to operate "most" of the time.  From what I've read, 100% operation is damn near impossible.

So in the interests of understanding the problem I popped my slide off and loaded some snap caps and watched what was happening.  

It seems that the follower is "canted" in the mag tube and doesn't sit level.  The left side of the follower rides higher than the right and is hitting the slide stop first.  It's pretty easy to see when I pull the spring/follower out too.  If the follower rode up the feed lips dead level, the slide stop wouldn't prematurely engage.  

I thought about removing 1mm of material from the corner of the follower that hits the slide stop. 

Bending the crap out of the spring looks like an option too, but common sense told me to stop.

What steps do you guys recommend if I want to try and retain the slide lock function?

IMG_4711.jpg

IMG_4712.jpg

Mags that don’t go to slide lock and are 100% reliable requires “tuning”. Such as spacing the feed lips according to the caliber used in the mag. Polishing up the inside of the mags and cutting the follower are also part of it. There are a number of how tos in the forum. You can also get a tuning kit from Dawson Precision. Bending your mag springs isn’t typically part of mag tuning.