Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

M&P Carry Optics Suggestion: Core vs 2.0, Apex, etc

timewaster1700

I've been shooting USPSA for a few months now and am having a blast. I've been switching off between Production and Limited. I'd like to dabble in carry optics. I have a trijicon rmr I got on a deal that is itching to be put on a pistol. I'm leaning towards the S&W m&p. I like the feel of the grip, low bore axis, etc. Its a comfortable gun. I shot a local guy's at a steel match. He had a dot on his Core pro 9L (long slide version) and he had an apex FSS trigger kit in it. Wow one of the best striker triggers I've felt. 

I have since researched that the FSS would sadly not be carry optic legal for USPSA. So I'm trying to figure out how to proceed. Seems the Apex CAEK or DCAEK with the stock m&p trigger should drastically improve the trigger but I would love to hear people's opinions. One person said the DCAEK made it more of a DA rolling break type trigger whereas the CAEK had more of the two stage crisp feel and of course was lighter of the two. Anyone with the DCAEK care to comment on the trigger feel and how crisp?

How does the trigger reset feel after installing either the Apex DCAEK or CAEK? One thing I dislike about the stock m&p trigger is the lack of audible and tactile reset. I have however heard you can bend the trigger bar and get a better feeling/close to glock style reset.

The reset issue brings me to the m&p m2.0

I felt the trigger on an m2.0 and it was definitely much better than the stock m&p trigger on the last gen. But sadly they don't make a stinking core model in the m2.0

Would it be worth it to go the m2.0 route and get the slide milled for my RMR?

Finally, in the case of any of the above options, being that I'm new to m&p pistols, is it possible to reduce/eliminate over travel with any internal mods?