Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Production DA/SA Start with Manual Safety

timewaster1700

Hi, I'm pretty new to USPSA. Only been shooting it for about 3 months now. I'm currently shooting a glock 17 in production but am considering moving to a hammer fired gun, potentially a USP, because I love shooting my USP and do much better with it than a glock. I've heard if you have a DA/SA gun you have to decock the gun and start with your first shot as a DA pull. However I'm wondering if this rule applies to DA/SA guns that also have a manual safety? For instance the USP has both a manual safety and a decocker. Would I be able to run a USP in production cocked and locked with the manual safety on for start?

Thanks

2 minutes ago, timewaster1700 said:

Hi, I'm pretty new to USPSA. Only been shooting it for about 3 months now. I'm currently shooting a glock 17 in production but am considering moving to a hammer fired gun, potentially a USP, because I love shooting my USP and do much better with it than a glock. I've heard if you have a DA/SA gun you have to decock the gun and start with your first shot as a DA pull. However I'm wondering if this rule applies to DA/SA guns that also have a manual safety? For instance the USP has both a manual safety and a decocker. Would I be able to run a USP in production cocked and locked with the manual safety on for start?

Thanks

Nope.

See appendix D4 special conditions:

"Handguns with external hammers must be fully decocked at the start signal"

Thank you both for the responses. That is truly unfortunate. Kind of puts DA/SA shooters at a disadvantage especially when you could just run a Walther PPQ with nearly as good of a trigger and not have any safeties or DA pulls. Bummer. Well I'll have to decide if I want to train around DA or not. Thanks

12 hours ago, timewaster1700 said: