Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Prima Vectan BA 9 1/2 Powder Loads/Feedback/Etc.

chaserracer

I am wondering what everyone/anyone's opinion is on this powder...I have been running it for around 3 months (3000 rds. +/-) and i really like how it burns, is somewhat clean and reasonably priced from my local store here.

I definitely had some trouble finding accurate load data but relied on the published manual from the manufacturer (using the BA9 powder info as i was instructed to do) and the comparable data from N320 powder loads.

I currently have no access to a Chrono at my local indoor practice range and the one at my local match range has not been available for use either so i have no idea what my loads would actually meter.

I'm currently running 4.0gr powder underneath a 125g lead coated Blue Bullet @ 1.125 OAL and i really like this load a lot. It shoots soft, accurate and reliably for me so far.

The closest published load data (124gr cast bullet using BA9 powder) shows as starting load of 3.4gr @962 FPS - Max. load of 4.3gr @1082 FPS

Just wondering if the above load sounds like a good recipe for at least making the minimum minor power factor. Any tips, info and suggestions are very much welcomed!

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started testing this powder using Bayou 124 TCG bullets.  At 4.0gr of powder I was only seeing ~953 FPS/118 PF out of a CZ pistol.  Tested a few other bullet weights (135 & 147) and found that I needed more Ba 9.5 for a given weight bullet to reach minor PF than either N320 or PV, so I stopped my testing there.

If your results are anything like mine, at 4.0gr you are likely not making minor or if so, just barely.  Grab yourself a chrono and see where you are at, perhaps you've found the pinnacle of powder perfection with this one :)

Thanks so much for the feedback.