Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Sh!t Happens, even to experienced shooters

PaulW

I have been competing in USPSA for about 20 years. Worked hard at it and made GM in open around 2005.

Well embarrassingly I made a big mistake at the steel challenge match Sunday and shot myself accidentially in the leg. A 9mm 135gr JHP went in my upper right thigh, exited my lower right thigh, entered my upper calf and came to rest on top of my ankle. The quick actions of my squad mates, my wife, and other competitors was incredible. We had a Doctor and two paramedics shooting and spectating that came to my assistance immediately.

So I am 110% responsible for this accident, the gun did what I told it to,  but given a few days I think several things contributed to my accident. 

1. I still think I can shoot at a GM level without practicing like I use too.

2. Gun and rig was a setup I have only used 5 or 6 times.

3. Fatigue...I worked with my hands a lot the day before and my hands were very stiff and sore.

It is easy to fall into the "I've done this so much it's second nature". I am, as most shooters are, extremely safety conscious. But under pressure we do silly things especially when we are pushing ourselves.

So I am extemely lucky that I did not hit bone, ligaments or any arteries. I should heal pretty quick and make a full recovery, however I am extremely lucky.

So I wanted to share this in the hopes that shooters will evaluate their training techniques and just as a reminder to be careful. We play a game with real guns and real bullets.  We take calculated risks everyday, like driving, but mitigating these risks and evaluating ourselves is good from time to time.

I look forward to getting back on the range soon but I will be making a few changes as well. Also it would be wise for ranges and or match directors to have trauma kits readily available for these types of accidents.