Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reload quesiton

chenault

I'm new to open and my only pistol before this was a CZ so excuse my question if it's basic.  How much pressure should it take to load a full magazine.  I have MBX magazines (CK pistol) and it's taking enough pressure to reload them that I sometimes miss a reload because the mag slides back out.  The do seat and drop free, the last little bit just takes a fair amount of pressure. Do I need to tune them or are my dainty arms just not pushing hard enough?

Edited by chenault

4 hours ago, jcc7x7 said:

Down load 1 round

Load10 rounds for speed stages/ classifiers

This, except I always load a full mag for every stage. I like to keep everything the same from stage to stage. If your 170 holds 29 then load them up with 28 for the reload. I use 29 in the mag I start the stage with then all others on my belt will be one short of capacity. The only time that one extra round will matter is if you a running some type of mega 55+ round stage at a match. USPSA matches will cap at 32 rounds which would be a 170 (29) and a 140 (23).

Edited by Mikeski

Any mag I reload to is downloaded by one round. That one round makes all the difference in the world.

i also don’t download my mags way down for classifieds etc. I think it’s beneficial to keep mags close to the same weight for consistent reloads.

2 hours ago, Mikeski said:

This, except I always load a full mag for every stage. I like to keep everything the same from stage to stage. If your 170 holds 29 then load them up with 28 for the reload. I use 29 in the mag I start the stage with then all others on my belt will be one short of capacity. The only time that one extra round will matter is if you a running some type of mega 55+ round stage at a match. USPSA matches will cap at 32 rounds which would be a 170 (29) and a 140 (23).

34 minutes ago, Sarge said:

Any mag I reload to is downloaded by one round. That one round makes all the difference in the world.