Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Walther PPQ Q5 Match - Loads?

saibot

I ordered a Walther Q5 Match and need to develop a load for it, but thought I'd ask the forum if they had already had a favorite recipe(s) I should consider. Since I have about 10K of SNS 125's, I'll likely use those unless you guys think I should look into another weight. I'm new to the platform and didn't know if there was a "de facto" bullet weight it liked.

And for what it's worth, I plan on shooting it in USPSA Production, so looking to be above 125 PF.

Thanks!

15 minutes ago, SCTaylor said:

What powder(s) do you have available?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mostly Tite Group, but a few lbs of Prima V that I haven't had a chance to try out yet. 

CCI 500's if that matters. 

Thanks

2 hours ago, SCTaylor said:

About 3.6 of TG at 1.10 will net you 131/132 pf with a 124/125. But make sure to chrono in your gun!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks, Scott!

Looking forward to building up some loads and comparing them. I have quite a bit of TG left, but I do keep hearing great things about the PV.

Cheers!

7 hours ago, BillGarlandJr said:

I've got a Q5 too. The Blue Bullets 135gr over 3.6 of Prima V shoots really well out of it. Goes for about a 135pf.

Bill, you have a Q5? Was that Pre-320? 

Honestly surprised it fits in your hands. Like shaking hands with a pack of bananas.

;)

Shooting it this weekend at Albany?

Thanks for the info!

I do have a Q5. I’ve only had it a few months. I was curious about it, and wanted to run one through its paces so I picked it up. Yeah, the grip could be a little longer. Reloading it is literally a pain. I’m impressed with how it shoots, but because it isn’t quite the right fit I’ll probably end up selling it.

If you’re shooting Albany next Saturday I can bring you some 135s if you want to give them a try.