Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Witness Elite Limited – my first time.

JROTTY

My new Witness Elite Limited in .40 S&W will be here tomorrow and you know what that means – heading to the range on Saturday.  I’m new to the Tanfo world, but shot a Para P16/45 in USPSA Limited back in the day (late 90’s) and recently, a Glock 22 (this is my first season back in USPSA).  I plan to install the DP FO front sight so I can zero the gun on Saturday.  Then, I’ll have time to tune/polish (I have a friend that will “school” me on this) before my next match the following Saturday.  I’d like to polish first, then zero the gun, but too many schedule conflicts.

Anything else I need to do to the gun (maybe a little oil is the right spots) before going hot on Saturday?

"Decent" means more motion than you like initially both pre-and post travel.  setting them too tight initially  could lead to issues of fail to reset or some other goofy failure. 

Clean it up and lube it. After the gun is polished, runs a few hundred rounds and settles in, THEN tighten up pre travel and over travel screws to your liking.

40 minutes ago, SoCalShooter69 said:

Not much out of the box. Just make sure your pre travel and post travel screws are set decent. 

Thanks for the input and advice.  Here I was thinking that it would be better to polish before the first time out.  But, as it turns out, it is better to run a few hundred round through it first so that you can see the initial wear points - then polish.

3 hours ago, JROTTY said:

Thanks for the input and advice.  Here I was thinking that it would be better to polish before the first time out.  But, as it turns out, it is better to run a few hundred round through it first so that you can see the initial wear points - then polish.

Correct.

Those of us with the DA Stock 2/3? Most of us did around 3 passes of in-depth polishing. With the weak hammer strike of double action, every bit of internal slickness helps!