Jump to content
Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Cuz

Does a shooter have to "show clear" to the RO?

Recommended Posts

Why would you DQ him? Don't be a dick, use your words.   Sounds like he wasn't sure of what you were getting at, it was only after it was explained to him that he came back.

 

Maybe he had a small attitude, but that's still no reason for a DQ.   

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ive been asked multiple times to show clear and re open the slide to make sure nothing is in the chamber. At that point i hammer down and holster again. Its better to follow the RO on every command that try and get smart.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I practice alone at a private range and have a tendency to rush through the USC pretty quick and sometimes I do that at a match.  I've had RO's ask a second time to show clear, and that's perfectly reasonable if he/she didn't actually see the empty chamber.  I don't see any reason a shooter would cop an attitude about it.  In the OP's situation, if the shooter walked away or refused to USC, I wouldn't hesitate to DQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the next command is IF CLEAR HAMMER DOWN HOLSTER. not the RO's fault if it goes bang. That's why its IF clear.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed. If they won't give the RO the opportunity to at least glance at the chamber, the next step "If Clear.... "  puts it all on the shooter. If they don't want someone to visually back them up, and it goes bang when they pull the trigger to drop the hammer.... DQ, and its on them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, ltdmstr said:

I practice alone at a private range and have a tendency to rush through the USC pretty quick and sometimes I do that at a match.  I've had RO's ask a second time to show clear, and that's perfectly reasonable if he/she didn't actually see the empty chamber.  I don't see any reason a shooter would cop an attitude about it.  In the OP's situation, if the shooter walked away or refused to USC, I wouldn't hesitate to DQ.

This

 

I also fly though the ULSC but when I hold the slide back, I pull it just far enough that the RO actually has full view of the chamber (opposed to pulling the slide all the way back forcing the RO to struggle to see a clear chamber) and wait for the "If clear" command.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that it’s on the shooter to BE clear, but the RO has every right to be SHOWN clear. My preference as a shooter is to go to slide lock after ejecting the last round and letting the RO get a good look at the empty chamber. As an RO, if the Original poster’s scenario happened to me, I would not proceed to the “if clear, hammer down, holster.” Agree also that an RO can’t declare the range clear, if they haven’t verified the weapon is emptied.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As an RO: I much prefer to see an open and empty chamber, in a perfect world this would be slide held about halfway open. However, I know that it is the shooter's responsibility to ensure it is empty, so if they fly through their ULSC and it doesn't go bang, then all is fine and dandy in the world. I am not going to make someone draw again and show me an empty gun except in extreme circumstances.

 

As a shooter: Flip and catch, a few aggressive racks of the slide, then I will wait with a half open slide until I get the "If clear" command to drop the hammer and holster up. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/18/2017 at 10:48 PM, rooster said:

If shooter did not come back and show clear what rule would be used to DQ?

10.6.1.,  "failing to comply with the reasonable directions of a Match Official"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether the RO sees the chamber clear or not, "If, Clear Hammer Down" and it goes bang, it is still on the shooter. That is why its not "I see clear, hammer down". all actions are on the shooter, the RO should not deviate from the Official Commands. If the shooter fails to comply then its a DQ under 10.6.1 as stated. At Level 1 matches I see alot of inconsistencies and that is what causes alot of confusion. It is a dis-service to competitors to deviate at local matches. JMHO

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Jammer1911 said:

Whether the RO sees the chamber clear or not, "If, Clear Hammer Down" and it goes bang, it is still on the shooter. That is why its not "I see clear, hammer down". all actions are on the shooter, the RO should not deviate from the Official Commands. If the shooter fails to comply then its a DQ under 10.6.1 as stated. At Level 1 matches I see alot of inconsistencies and that is what causes alot of confusion. It is a dis-service to competitors to deviate at local matches. JMHO

I concur!  Often at local matches same people squad together and become "too" comfortable and get lax on the rules.  It should very much so, be avoided.  It's a huge misjudgment on all parties for that to happen.  No one wants to spend time and money traveling to a larger match to DQ. So do yourself a favor at your local, and make sure everyone practices keeping full compliance within the rules.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×