Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Starline 38 TJ Brass?

dpeters

I just went on starlines web sight to buy some 38 Supercomp brass and to my suprize I noticed that Starline was selling 38 TJ brass. Has anyone else heard that Starline is selling 38 TJ brass?

I have been using Hornady 38 TJ brass for 3 years but I recently had to switch to Starline supercomp because the Hornady TJ brass was getting very hard to find.

The supercomp brass runs though my gun fine, but it seems to me that the Hornady TJ brass seats the primers much smoother in the reloading press compared to the starline supercomp. + that Hornady TJ brass is virtually indestructable.

• 4 weeks later...

The Starline rep at the nationals told me there is no difference between Starline and Hornady TJ brass. I am a long time Hornady TJ brass shooter but the Hornady brass was getting to scarce. I am glad to see that Starline has picked up the product. Starline has great customer service and the price will be cheaper then Hornady's. Hopefully the quality will be as good as Hornady's.

Shred,

What shell plate # is used for Starline 38TJ in the Dillon 550?

barry

I use a .223 for the Hornady stuff I have.

Same here, but the 550 is one of the two currently-produced Dillon presses I've never owned (the other being the SL 900), so I'm not much help there. I do use the .223 plate on both my 650 and 1050.

The Starline rep at the nationals told me there is no difference between Starline and Hornady TJ brass.

I sectioned some Hornady TJ and Starline TJ brass last night and they look extremely close in both exterior and interior dimensions. I'll throw up some pics if I get a chance.