Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Good attitude goes a long way

Mushki25

I have been shooting IDPA for a few years and have constantly struggled, shooting below my abilities, at majors.  I let every little questionable call, dropped shot, etc. bother me.  Yesterday I shot my first USPSA major and had a fairly good match. I just wanted to enjoy the match and have fun.  Honestly could have done better on a few of the stages.  I did not carry over the mistakes to the next stage.  I stayed happy and loose and it really helped.  I just wanted to share this for anyone who also struggles letting expectations not met drag down an otherwise good match.

This mindset is contagious. It's so much easier to shoot on a squad of people that can remain optimistic. When the group can remain positive, everyone seems to shoot better. I know that I try to squad with people that have records of being able to move on after a tough stage, and avoid the ones that throw fits when they tank a stage.

My wife and I both shoot SC and practice quite a bit.  Our ceiling is age-limited, but we're competitive, simply wanting to shoot our best and continue to get a bit better.  Let's just say she "puts up with me" when I get down and helps to pull me out of it.  These sports take so much concentration and it's difficult to maintain that for us normal folk string after string, stage after stage, match after match, but you've got to enjoy the small victories.

To me it also helped to write down things that bothered me on particular stages. For example if I screwed up hitting a activator popper but moved on, screwing up the whole timing i would write down "practice calling your shots on important (steel) targets" on a small notebook i got in my rangebag, and forget about it. From the head to the paper, so I can focus on the next stage. After the match there's plenty of time to think about what went wrong and how to adress that in training.