Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need help fiiting slide to frame

bbg

Hello everyone, I am new to this and I am trying to fit sti slide to sti frame. I have a couple questions:

1. It looks like the bottom of the slide has too much material ( you can see a small gap in the first picture ) How do I manually remove material from the bottom of the slide? Is there a jig for this? I have the matrix precision jig but my file sticks out too much. I can try to modify the matrix precision jig but I want to see if there is any other option.

2. in the second picture, there is a small step under the rail. What is that for? The slide will move up a little when it travels backwards. Should this step be filed down? Can I remove the material from here horizontally instead of removing from the bottom of the slide?

Thank you for your help.

1.jpg

2.jpg

BBG,

The raised portion you are referring to in the second picture is to provide some clearance between the bottom of the slide and the dust cover and even the integral plunger tube housing. You do not want the bottom of the slide rubbing along the top of the dust cover or the plunger tube housing. It looks really cool then the slide melts into the frame (especially the full-length dust cover frames), but this is not a good thing. It also is extra material in case you need to re-cut the frame rail to open it a bit to accept the bottom portion of the slide rails.

In regards to the question you are asking about removing material from the bottom of the slide, I would suggest mapping out all of the measurements for the frame and slide rails first if this hasn't yet been done. Those measurements will help you, as help us, to tell you where to begin to remove material. I have attached a pretty common slide and frame measurement sheet to help out if you do not already have one.

Andy Cree

1911%20SLIDE%20FITTING.jpg

Edited by CCG