Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2011 LEFT HANDED shooter mag release help

Hawk21

I am new to 2011 pistols and need suggestions on what works for left handed shooters when it comes to mag release engagement.  

I have tried simply hitting the stock and an oversized release with my trigger finger but it's not smooth and certainly slow..... I just received a mitchell right side mag release but my hands are too small for my left hand thumb to reach it.... Is my best option using my support hand (right) thumb for depressing the right side mag release????

As a lefty who shoots lots of double stack pistols, I empathize with you. I tried using my trigger or the middle finger to press the mag release when on the left side. I also tried shifting my grip to get my strong hand thumb to reach the button when on the right side. For me, shifting my grip was easier, faster and more natural. I can't comment on using the support hand to manipulate the button.

Good luck

Sent from my P01M using Tapatalk

On 7/15/2017 at 1:29 PM, Hawk21 said:

I am new to 2011 pistols and need suggestions on what works for left handed shooters when it comes to mag release engagement.  

I have tried simply hitting the stock and an oversized release with my trigger finger but it's not smooth and certainly slow..... I just received a mitchell right side mag release but my hands are too small for my left hand thumb to reach it.... Is my best option using my support hand (right) thumb for depressing the right side mag release????

I've been using my trigger finger for 25  years.  You can dry fire enough to make it as fast as anybody else......

I am using my trigger finger and I also have small hands. If the release was on the right side I'd have to shift my grip in order to use the release and then re-grip. As RangerTrace said, enough dry fire and it becomes automatic and fast.