Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ben Stoeger class questions

bcp

I've enjoyed reading the various threads on those who have attended Ben's classes.  I have all of his printed and DVD materials but would like to take his classes at some point.  A little background on me...lifetime shooter but just beginning in USPSA.  

If you had to pick 1 class with Ben, which would you start with and why?  Fundamentals or Skills & Drills?  How many of you have repeated his classes, how close together, and what was your experience with that?

I'm sure any of his classes would give me plenty of feedback to work on for a long time.  Thanks in advance for your replies.

I've taken his Fundamentals class. Ben recommends "beginners" start in the Fundamentals class. He says the Skills & Drills class for people that practice a good amount. His classes aren't necessarily built for absolute beginners.

I'd personally recommend to dedicate as much time as you can to working through the books and DVD. May be a good idea to follow his training routine in the back of the book for a couple months first. This way you can get to an efficient level and then when you go to Ben he can tell you what you really need to focus on. 

Thanks for the reply.  I'm doing all of that with his materials and I'm no stranger to hard work and practice.  

I won't be taking a class soon.  I would anticipate signing up for something in 8-12 months but I'm asking the question now as his classes fill up early.  

Thanks for the replies.  I found this on Ben's document for setting up classes...

For a Practical Shooting Fundamentals class, I cap the class at 12 students. I only accept people who have been in the sport long enough to be classified (unless they get prior approval from me).