Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

getting started in 3-Gun

After lurking here for ages I'm finally sold, I want to give 3-gun a run.

What do I need?  I have a Bushmaster M-4, aperture rear/tritium front post, Scattergun Technologies version of the 870, identical sight setup, and a Glock 21, iron sights.  Will this work?

Once gear is squared away what type of training schedule should I look forward to?  

Do you try to train with each weapon everyday or do you work with them in some other fashion?  How do you break down each training session?  Live fire and dry practice routines?

What is a good entry level match?

Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to the fun world of 3-Gun!  I started with a bunch of good guys about two years ago, shot with gears that I already had (1911,BPS 12ga,A2 AR) just to have fun.  I upgraded as $ allowed.  IMO, no arm race is necessary.  Shoot the stuff that you have.  

I can't offer much about training, except make every range session count, meaning not just helping the environment with additional lead down range.  I usually limit myself to about 150 rds pistols and 60 rifles.  Shotgun I only practice loading at home using dummies.  An essential piece of gear for practicing is a timer.  Get one and you won't regret it.

(Edited by PacMan at 7:17 am on Nov. 23, 2002)

(Edited by PacMan at 7:20 am on Nov. 23, 2002)

Looks to me like you need ammo, and practice.

i don't train nearly enough for 3 gun, as we only do it once every other month, and sometimes i don't even get to doing it then.

i've seen alot of times lost because bad transitions & pick up set down of the gun. thats one thing to start off practicing.

buy a box of 25 rounds of "dummy" rounds of 12 gauge, 870 is fun, and practice practice practice reloading your shotgun. then you get to practice working the pumpwhen its empty, do it again.

Hope that helps, I'm also interested in the practice regimine of some of the better 3 gunners here.