Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bullet Getting Caught in the Rifling of Shadow 2 Barrel

WiII

I received 500 of these(http://www.precisionbullets.com/store.html) in 147gr. I loaded some to 1.135-1.147, they passed my Lyman gauge but got stuck in the rifling of my barrel. I reduced the oal length to the point at which they would drop and spin in the barrel. This turned out to be around 1.08.

I believe this is due to the profile of the bullet, specifically the width near the case mouth extending towards the nose. My bayou and xtreme bullets loads both work fine in this barrel.

I'm very new to CZ so any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  

Thanks.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Get ahold of Matt Cheely,, Cheely Custom Guns.  I have sent him 2 barrels over the years. One on my STI open gun and one was my SP-01 Shadow.  Always sent a dummy round - no primer and no powder with the bullet of choice seated to the overall length of choice.  He will throat the barrel and give you a little bit more.

Use his web site to get ahold of him.  He gets back to you fast and he is fast doing the work.  He turned both barrels around the same day he got them. 

I'm guessing that once you cut through the surface of the barrel you lose any benefit from nitriding in that area. 

Since you already have found 2 bullets that work well (sns 147 tc at 1.15 is another), I'd be inclined to just feed it what it likes to eat.

Makes me wonder about another possibly relevant thing, a friend with a high round count shadow 1 has recently got into issues with light strikes, he has changed all of the firing control components with no effect. I'm wondering if the metal of the barrel can eventually get washed out and allow the bullet to go farther forward? 

Edited by IHAVEGAS

On 5/31/2017 at 6:58 PM, WiII said: