Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

AzShooter

I've been shooting Revolvers for competition for the last 40 years and have done pretty well.  I love the feeling of shooting the revolver, the comradery and the joy of beating a few auto shooters along the way.  Recently I've suffered from a few ailments that have really put my shooting back many years.  No matter how I tried I just couldn't be competitive anymore and that was straining my enjoyment of shooting.

I finally decided to sell my Center fire revolvers and picked up a .22 so I could keep shooting and seeing friends at the range.  I still have my 617 for when I want to shoot the revolver again but I'm really starting to enjoy Steel Challenge matches with my Ruger 22/45 Lite.  

No more having to load moon clips before the match and emptying them afterwards.  No more loading ( although I enjoyed it  for years )  I sold the same guy my gun, my Dillon 650 and all my reloading equipment.  Now, I just go on the internet when I need ammo and get my favorite variety of .22s.

It's only been 3 months with the auto but I really enjoy it.  My gun functions very well and I haven't had a malfunction in the past two matches.  My times are improving and I'm more motivated to practice.

Today was our club's Steel Challenge  Match and it was a great day for me. I bested my time by 25 seconds and improved on 6 of the stages.  Still have to work on Outer Limits and Pendulum. I still need work on Smoke and Hope.  I tried a different order and kept missing target two.  I'll have to go back to my old plan of attack. 

I'm getting my confidence back and willing to try to go faster.   After watching one of TGO's videos about not worrying about aiming and just holding the gun tight and pull the trigger straight back,  I've been able to tighten up my shots.  Funny, I learned this from Rob Leatham years ago at one of his classes.