Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shotgun for 3-gun

paraman1

I am interested in building a limited shotgun for 3-gun and would like some informed opinions on what mods to make . I will most likely be using a Remington model 1100 as the platform as they seem to be the most available in my price range . I am thinking of going with a 20 gauge but since most 3-gunners use a 12 I am willing to listen to thought and comments on why one may be better than the other . Is a screw in choke system required ? Or just a nice thing to have ? I know that everyone is putting on an extended mag tube but what are the other must haves for competition ? What are the weak links in this shotgun and some of the modifications one could make to help beef up its weak points or make it more reliable ? I have hunted upland game birds for years but realize the requirements of a competition shotgun will be vastly different . Thanks in advance for any help on this subject .

I'm no expert in this, but had toyed with a Rem 1100 before.  I would recommend the 12 ga, just because of payload, and I don't believe anyone makes extended tubes for 20 ga.  Also, it seems that somebody would have the 12 ga bird shots on sale at any one time.  Screw in chokes are not necessary but good to have, most of the time you'd be using modified choke tube anyway.  A carrier release after market (Easy Loader) is a must.  The Remington carrier/bolt release button is way too small, even for hunting purposes (try to activate it with winter gloves on).  The only possible weaklink of the 1100 is its gas system, must keep it in top operating condition, or risk having ejection/loading hang ups.  A 21" Rem choked barrel with rifle sights is the ticket for 3 gun, good for shots and great with slugs.  Have fun with this project!

12 is the only way as almost all accessories on the market are for it. I and a lot of people would shoot a 20 if this wasn't true. If you buy ammo compare prices also.