Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Custom AR's

Kyle Norris

OK, time for me to put another iron in the fire. Long term plan is to get some type of Limited AR for three gunning. Now, being a poor college student I was thinking I could collect the parts over time(you know, a lower this month, uppper a couple months later, ect). I have a pretty good rifle smith nearby(I've used him for some light handgun work), former high power and bench rest shooter. So what are the chances I'll end up with something good in the long run? I know it'll end up costing me more over buying factory, but think I'll get a better gun out of the deal?

Kyle,

Here is a novel approach that seems to be lost on most shooters.... If you buy a part here and there and you know it will cost you more in the long run, why not save the money and buy the gun you want when you have saved enough? You get the gun in the same time if not sooner because you don't have to wait to get the GS to put it together. Seems like a pretty simple system. The only way buying parts is good is if you can put everything together and save the GS fees.

I'm a big believer in both custom ARs and slowly building them as you go along to defray costs.  3 gunning requires an AR that consistently shoot 1 MOA to 1 1/2 MOA.  Most factory ARs have no problems achieving this as the AR is inherently accurate.  But it is SWEET to shoot 1/2 MOA groups out of an AR. SWEET!  My Accuracy Speaks open gun does just that.  I take it to Police Sniper competitions and let it trash on Robars, Steyrs, etc.  

The best thing about a custom AR is that it is like Burger King, you can have it your own way.  If you want a DPMS extended rail receiver and a Medesha handguard with a 18 inch bull 1 in 7.7 twist barrel with a Clark comp, then you can have one!  One thing that I have noticed about all of the good 3 gunners is that none of their ARs are alike.  Everybody has them setup differently.