Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Speed- 550 vs. a Square Deal

JD45

Comparing pistol calibers only, and no casefeeder, which do you think you can run faster consistently?

I already have a SDB, and plan to buy a 550 regardless for many reasons, but I'd just like to hear some opinions. 

I've been using a SDB for 20 years, and have Never Seen a 550  ....    But,

I don't understand how a 550 could be ANY faster than a SDB.    :mellow:

Same process - you still have to load a new case and bullet for each pull

of the handle ...

I know people say they're faster with a 550, but without any evidence to the

contrary, it still seems strange to me that one machine would be faster than

the other ...  

BUT, lets wait and hear from those who have used both machines.    :)

The SDB is smaller, giving you less room to maneuver the cases and bullet heads. Yes, it auto indexes, but if you have the system down with the 550, indexing the press takes no time. I believe even Brian will say the 550 is faster.

Check out these posts by Brian...

I have never used a SDB but for me reloading is a task that requires attention to detail.  I keep reminding myself that I am making small explosive devices and one mistake could hurt me or my prized firearms.  Somehow high speed and attention to detail do not fit in the same sentence for me.

Over the years I have developed a very close relationship with each individual finger on both hands. 

All though on one occasion I loaded 350 rounds of 9MM on my old 550 B in under an hour without pushing or rushing the process.  

I learned early on with the SDB that you ALWAYS keep a bullet in your left hand. As soon as you sit one in the case mouth, you grab another.

If you don't, you'll waste lots of time.

This is why I can't figure out how manual indexing could be faster.

21 minutes ago, Rustygun said:

Over the years I have developed a very close relationship with each individual finger on both hands. 

:P