Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1911 Drop in Trigger Kits?

ksf141

Im thinking about a simple 1911 lower frame build for a dedicated 22 conversion upper.  Wondering what your experiences are with some of the 1911 "drop in" trigger kits by the likes of Brazos, Cylinder and Slide, etc.  I have basic tools and knowledge of assembly/disassembly.  I am not interested in complex fitting,grinding,polishing etc and dont have the tools/jigs for it.  Anyone use these kits and what was the install and result like?  Thanks! 

5 minutes ago, Nugget said:

I'm a big fan of the ultimate light speed 2 kit from cylinder and slide. Pound and a half pull on both open guns. Clean break.

thanks Nugget.  did you install these kits yourself?  if so, any tips/comments on how it went? did you have to modify to get the 1.5lb pull? they advertise something like 3lbs out of the box.   thanks in advance for any thoughts. 

Edited by ksf141

I put the Brazos kit into my Trubor, the kit installed with not problems but the safety had to be fitted to operate properly, luckily there was too much material on the existing safety so I could fit it with filing, otherwise I would have had to either get a new safety or weld up the old one to add metal to the drum so it could be filed for proper operation.

Extreme Engineering and Cylinder & Slide parts are the same.  Their parts are well made, but I've never had a kit go in without some fiddling.  The last kit, the hammer hooks were only 16 thou.  I had to deepen them to 18.

I have two kits from EGW.  Their "kits" are actually parts picked out of a bin and packaged as a kit.  Their machining is so good they drop in and work IF your frame holes are in the correct positions.