Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Scale for reloading

Eric1231

I'd suggest (I've done it, myself) to get The Cheapest Scale you

can find that you know how to use.    :)

IFF you know how to reliably read a beam scale, they're

usually less expensive than an electronic scale.  BUT, If You cannot

read a beam properly, easily, then the electronic scale would be a

wise investment for you.

The scale merely gets you in the ball park - loads are not usually cast

in stone - you don't need to throw 6.3 grains, necessarily.   You want

to load some 6.0, 6.2, 6.4 and then CHRONO them.

Your chrono is really much better than your scale to set your powder

throw.

(Unless you're shooting precision loads) :) 

I've been using a $30-40 Lyman digital for almost 10 years now. It's always done the job just fine.

Biggest too I can give you in accurate measuring is to use individual drops to get close to the charge weight you want... then take 5 to 10 drops, put them in the pan together, and average them.

Even a cheap scale is quite accurate when used this way. And as long as you're always using the same powder measure and scale and you chronograph your ammo, you'll never have much trouble working up a load.

I've had several electronic scales, expensive and cheap ones. They all exhibit the same flaw, pick up the pan and set it back down on the scale, multiple times and it will display a different weight value each time. Learn to use a balance beam scale. You can trust them!

On 12/25/2016 at 10:46 AM, MemphisMechanic said:

I've been using a $30-40 Lyman digital for almost 10 years now. It's always done the job just fine.

Biggest too I can give you in accurate measuring is to use individual drops to get close to the charge weight you want... then take 5 to 10 drops, put them in the pan together, and average them.