Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Case Sticking to powder funnel?

I have been reloading now for nearly 7 yrs.  One thing I have recently changed to my process, is cleaning the cases with steal media, water, dish soap instead of walnut shells.  I have been noticing with my 9mm loading that the case is sticking to the powder funnel on the up stroke.(releasing)  I have read the troubleshooting in the XL650 manual about this issue. 

Has anyone come across of this issue?  I don't think the powder funnel is worn, I do clean the cases for 2 hrs.

Thanks, John

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Changing the time that you clean your brass won't help. The issue is the process, soap and water make the brass too clean.  What I have done is to back my powder funnel out a bit and if you get it right you will eliminate a lot of the sticking. If you have a Mr. Bulletfeeder funnel the problem can even be worse. You can try to polish both types of funnels. You can also try the 1050 powder funnel as it bells the case differently. If you take the time to experiment you will probably get the sticking down to a tolerable level. 

2 hours ago, Frank34 said:

Changing the time that you clean your brass won't help. The issue is the process, soap and water make the brass too clean.  What I have done is to back my powder funnel out a bit and if you get it right you will eliminate a lot of the sticking. If you have a Mr. Bulletfeeder funnel the problem can even be worse. You can try to polish both types of funnels. You can also try the 1050 powder funnel as it bells the case differently. If you take the time to experiment you will probably get the sticking down to a tolerable level. 

Just a heads up, the S1050's powder funnel does not expand the case. On the S1050 the case is expanded during the primer pocket swaging process.