Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Production Revolver Questions

RippinSVT

Okay guys, now that I've become distinguished in Metallic, I'm gonna go back and dabble in Production to get my distinguished in that hopefully.  I recently started shooting my K38 Masterpiece in practice and I've been doing well with it...Practicals in the 470's, 470-480 plates, haven't tried mover/barricade yet.  Anyways, the biggest issue I have with it is drawing that long barrel from a standard enclosed leather holster without drastically slowing me down and cutting time real close.  What exactly is allowable in Production as far as wheelgun holsters?  As for grips, I've got some thick wood handles on there that do the trick since I suppose the RO's would frown upon Big Butt Hogues.  How about hammers?  Since it is DAO, is it acceptable to bob the spur, or would that automatically bump me back to Metallic?  I've seen a few "Production" guns that made me roll my eyes a bit, so I wasn't sure how far I could push this stuff.

While we're on the topic...has anybody ever got a 125gr load to shoot tiny groups?  I never have in the dozens of 38/357's I've owned.  This thing cuts a ragged hole with Sierra 140's and lead 148HBWC's, but I'd like a little quicker pill if possible.

Thanks,

Kyle

You have no relief on a holster, you can't bob the hammer and you are correct on no hogue big butt grips. I shoot Zero 125's with HP38 or 231 at about 1050 and get good results. If the 140's group better I would use those it only matters on the mover and thats not hard to figure out.

K frames don't handle a steady diet of lightweight, fast,  jacketed ammo. Stick with  Bayou bullets 138gn wadcutters at around 920 fps and you will be good to go for quite a while.

L frames are beefy where it counts and can take the pounding where a K frame cannot. A stock 586 or 686 will do quite nicely, John Pride proved that.

7 hours ago, RippinSVT said: