Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Entry and exits

Onepocket

I am far from a pro but I was taught to launch with your leading leg and brake into position using trailing leg. I still need to do alot of work on this but when done correctly it can save lots of valuable time on the clock. 

On exit i push off with the rear leg, because that's what I learned playing football growing up.  Right or wrong, i dont know.  Probably more of a preference thing.   What leg would you push off with if you were going to sprint or run?  Whichever leg that is, just use that.  Or try it on the clock in practice, probably wont make a huge difference, as long as you exit quick and with authority

20 minutes ago, Onepocket said:

Hard and soft entry and exits. Does anyone follow a hard clear cut rule on what leg to leave and enter on? Just curious  on others thoughts.

For hard exits:  what i've seen and do is drive with what ever foot is opposite the direction i intend to move.  Check out Max Michel vids.  

For hard entry:  haven't found a clear cut rule yet.  I just try to stop with my feet in a position that allows me to transition from target to target without having to re-adjust them.

For hard entry, the way I've always taught it (Which I originally learned from Max and Travis) is the following steps if I'm moving right to left into a shooting box:

1- Right foot turns toward the target and sets down just BEFORE the box.

2- Left foot goes to the far side of the box and ends up in final position all while extending gun to target and getting on the sights.

3- As sight picture improves I pick up right foot to place into box (only a 6 inch lateral movement or so) trying to keep the rest of my body still. If executed well you can fire a very precise shot the instant you set your right foot down. If executed perfectly you can fire a very precise shot the instant you pick your right foot up.

Edited by Jake Di Vita

12 minutes ago, Onepocket said: