Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

When did you switch from original iron sights... and to what?

I'm currently a beginner, skill-wise, to be honest. So, the question arises: at what point, if any, should I even consider changing from the original iron sights to something else? The fiber optic sights look interesting in youtube videos and reviews/discussion posts speak highly of most of them; the Tritium ones look expensive and 95% low-light oriented. Big Dots look useful but I've never seen them on a gun in person.

I've got both an S&W SD9VE (9mm) and an SW M&P 22LR (full size) that are currently using the original iron sights. I shoot the 22 99% at an indoor range and don't really intend to use it elsewhere. The lighting is mediocre-to-dark by any standard but "range standard"' that is, it's a bit darker than would be best for me, but I can see the targets and holes well and each lane has its own light for use if desired. The 22's primary purpose is simply to get inexpensive sight and trigger time while augmenting LASR/SIRT dry-fire training. I don't have any other plans for it, but haven't ruled anything out for the remaining 1%.

For me, the SD9VE doubles as a self-defense gun and a USPSA Production competition gun (because I'm cheap). I don't expect "to win" with it, just to have fun. But I'll try to get the most I can out of it (I doubt I will ever be able to "outshoot" it). So, it's a mostly outdoors during daytime, indoors-as-needed-under whatever-lighting-conditions-exist-at-the-time, weapon.