Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Alaskan454's Range Diary

Alaskan454

After reading some of the other range diaries here I decided to start writing down some goals and update my progress as I work towards them. As a little background I have been shooting my whole life, but spent most of my youth banging clay pigeons in trap, skeet, and sporting clays. I'm actually pretty good at shooting clays but for some reason handguns are my biggest hobby at the moment and have been since I bought my first one at 21. I've always been a revolver guy but didn't realize how much fun they were to shoot in competition until recently. I thought I needed a fancy bottom fed auto loader to be competitive so that's where my competitive shooting journey began.

The first one I bought was a CZ P01 with some custom shop upgrades in January of 2012. I started shooting the occasional IDPA match with it that year and like many new guys I showed up with a deep concealment holster and no vest. I shot about two matches before I realized a compact alloy pistol was not a competitive choice. I promptly ordered a full size SAO CZ Shadow T and ended up shooting that in the later half of 2012. Having no real mentor at the time I was eager to read and watch as much as I could to improve my shooting skills. I was a member at an indoor range and spent most of that first year working on slow fire groups from 7 to 15 yards. Once I felt I was doing pretty well I started pushing targets out to the 25 yard line. After I had 4-5k rounds through the P01 and Shadow T I started getting pretty decent, but only during slow fire shooting from a stationary position. I was able to dump full mags into one ragged hole at the 7 yard line, but when I shot in matches everything went south. I tried too hard to speed up and learned quickly that you can't outshoot a miss.